You are here: Home » News Detail

England Squad Ready for Blind Cricket World Cup

19th November 2012

Hassan Khan was presented his England cap before his debut against... Hassan Khan was presented his England cap before his debut against Sri Lanka

The England Blind Cricket team are set to fly to India for the Blind Cricket World Cup that starts on 2nd December 2012.

The tour party leave from Heathrow Airport on Monday 26th November, arriving in Bangalore the following morning.

The tournament will be the fourth Blind Cricket World Cup, the first played under the Twenty20 format. England have finished third in all three previous World Cups.

Jimmy Millard is the only player selected for the first time, although both Dave Gavrilovic and Ryan Jones are still uncapped after being unused members of the squad for the 2012 Blind Cricket Ashes. 16 players have been selected with London Metro and Warwickshire Bears each providing five players. Luke Sugg, who became the first England captain from any other club than London Metro when he took charge for the Twenty20 series v Australia after the 2012 Ashes, will continue to captain the side.

As well as doing their best to return home with the trophy, the whole England squad will be playing for the memory of their teammate Heindrich Swanepoel who passed away in early October.

The tournament consists of a nine team group stage, in which England have a run of seven games in seven days, with the top four teams progressing to the semi-finals. The final takes place on December 13th.

The competing nations are: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Nepal, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.

England Squad

Amit Amin (London Metro)
Peter Blueitt (Yorkshire VICC)
Dave Gavrilovic (Northants Steelbacks)
Hassan Khan (London Metro)
Mahomed Khatri (Warwickshire Bears)

Rob Comber (Kent VICC)
Gavin Dean (London Metro)
Matt Dean (London Metro)
Ryan Jones (London Metro)
Matt Page (Hampshire VICC)

Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire Bears)
James Millard (Sussex Sharks)
Andy Powers (Warwickshire Bears)
Dave Powers (Warwickshire Bears)
Luke Sugg (Captain, Warwickshire Bears)

Head Coach: Chris Porter
Assistant Coach: Bobby Denning
Physio: Fran Clarkson
Team Manager: Martin Dean
ECB National Disability Cricket Manager: Ian Martin
BCEW International Director: Peter Sugg

BCEW Umpire Paul Richardson will also be representing his country as the English representative on the tournament’s umpiring panel.

England B2 squad member Rob Comber England B2 squad member Rob Comber