You are here: Home » News Detail

T20 World Cup for the Blind - Day 5

6th December 2012

Prakash Jayaramaiah’s 3rd ton torments Lankans

Continuing his regal form in the T20 world cup, Prakash Jayaramaiah (B2) hammered his third century against Sri Lanka to take India to its fourth consecutive victory today at the Central College Grounds, Bangalore. Put in to bat by Sri Lanka as is the norm by teams winning the toss in the blind cricket format, Prakash waltzed into the Lankan bowling hitting 33 fours in his hurricane knock of 149 off only 54 balls. Ganeshbhai Bushara at the other end pitched in an equally aggressive 53 off 22 balls. In reply, the Sri Lankan batsmen failed to put even a semblance of a fight against tight bowling by Ajay Kumar Reddy and Pankaj Bhue and were all out for 132. This is the first time that a team has been bowled out in an innings in this world cup. For the Lankans, this is the first defeat in the world cup but they are still in contention for making the last four. 

India next play arch foe Pakistan tomorrow at the Aditya Global Sports Ground, Nelamangala. Both teams are in great form and Prakash Jayaramaiah is peaking at the right moment for India, while Pakistan’s Mohammad Akram is itching to prove himself against the Indians. Indian team coach Patrick Rajkumar said his boys were charged up for this all important match and promised to come hard against Pakistan.

KJP Treasurer and Gen Secretary of Karnataka Small Scale Industries Association (KASSIA), S.N. Eswar who presented the Man of the Match Award to Prakash Jayaramaiah promised to support the Bind Cricket in the future and also called upon the fraternity of industrialists to empower the Blind by giving them jobs, while also extending his personal commitment to the same.

Brief Scores: India: 300 for 4 (Prakash Jayaramaiah (B3) 149 (54), Ganeshbbhai Bushara (B2) 53 (22), Ajay K Reddy (B2) 29 (19)) MASP Gunawardana (b2) 2 for 46) beat Sri Lanka 132 all out (Karuna Tilaka (B3) 46 (40), Ajay K Reddy (B2) 2 for 24, Pankaj Bhue (B2) 2 for 4). India won by 168 runs. Man of the Match: Prakash Jayaramaiah.

Australia coast to easy win

Mathew McCarthy with the bat (56) and Peter Robinson with the ball (4 for 12) took Australia to an easy win over Nepal defeating them by 9 wickets at the Central College grounds, Bangalore. Opting to bat first, Nepalese batsmen had a tough time coping with Peter Robinson’s pace that grabbed 4 wickets for a measly 12 runs, and ended at 130 for 8.

With this, Australia has two wins under its belt and can hope to better its performance in the coming matches. Initially, it had to pit their wits against the top 3 teams in the fray, viz. India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka and failed to register a win against any of them. Nepal has a solitary win against its name up to now.

Brief Scores: Australia: 133 for1 in 9.5 overs (Mathew McCarthy (B3) 56 (33), Michael Zannis (B1) 36 (18)) beat Nepal: 130 for 8 in 20 overs (Ramprasad (B2) 37 not out (36), Peter Robinson (B2) 4 for 12). Australia won by 9 wickets. Man of the Match: Peter Robinson.

Windies register first win

West Indies registered their first win of the world cup against Bangladesh at the Aditya Global Sports Ground, defeating them easily by 10 wickets. Captain Michael Durham won the toss and put Bangladesh to bat. The Bangladesh batsmen struggled against fine bowling by Halden Forde and Anthony Cummins who took five wickets between themselves. Eventually they folded up at 81 for 9, which proved to be a walk in the park for the Windies openers who reached the target in 4.5 overs. Bangladesh is yet to win a match in the tournament with two losses and two matches lost to rain.

Brief Scores: West Indies: 82 for no loss in 4.5 overs Toussaint Gardner (B3) 43 (17), Caneel Graham (B-) 38 (12) beat Bangladesh 81 for 9 (Halden Forde (B-) 3 for 17, Anthony Cummins (b-) 2 for 21). Man of the Match: Halden Forde.

First win for England

England posted its first win the T20 world cup in style at the Aditya Global Sports Ground with Mathew Dean taking the South African bowling to the cleaners hitting a classy 139 in 70 balls. A B2 category player (partially blinded), Dean averaged a strike rate of nearly 2 runs per ball posting a match-winning partnership of 177 runs with Justin Hollingsworth who scored 69 off 41 balls. After South Africa set a target of 266 to England, Luke Sugg (3 for 17) and Mathew Dean (1 for 20) chipped in with the ball to defeat South Africa comprehensively, despite a valiant century partnership of 114 off 66 balls between Sowwabile Bidla (B2) and Jermaine Collins.

Brief Scores: England: 265 for 1 (Mathew Dean (B2) 139 (70), Justin Hollingsworth (B3) 69 (41), Mo Khatri (B1) 24 (10)) beat South Africa: 180 for 6 (Sowwabile Bidla (B2) 75 (46), Jermain Collins (B3)35 not out 35), Christian Lesenbenberg (B2) 23 (11)) Luke Sugg (B3) (3 for 17), Mathew Dean (B2) (1 for 20). England won by 85 runs. Man of the Match: Mathew Dean.