You are here: Home » News Detail

T20 World Cup for the Blind - Day 9

10th December 2012

India enter Semi-finals with big win against SA

Brilliant all-round performance by Indians sent South Africa crashing to a very big defeat by 288 runs in the last match prior to the last four stage of the T20 World Cup for the Blind played at Aditya Global Sports Ground, Bangalore.

Electing to bat after winning the toss, India’s top order batsmen, Ganesh Bushara (80 not out in 31 balls), Dunna Venkatesh 79 (31) and Hitesh Bhai Patel (72 off 26 balls) sent the ball repeatedly scurrying to the ropes with the former two notching up a splendid partnership of 172 off 60 deliveries, that is at almost three runs per ball. Chasing a mammoth target of 356, all the South African batsmen barring Lawrence Ruthven failed to reach double digits, falling to some wily bowling by Indian captain Shekar Naik (3 for 13) and vice-captain Ajay Kumar Reddy (2 for 14).

India has now entered semi-finals and play Sri Lanka in the second play-off at Central College grounds, on Wednesday, December 12. While Sri Lanka has 6 wins of 8 matches, India has won all its 8 matches excepting the one against Pakistan. With the kind of all-round form the players have displayed, the Lankans will surely be up against it in the semis. Expect a cracker of a match though, before the all-important finals, expected to be the mother of all contests between traditional enemies, India and Pakistan.

Brief Scores: India: 355 for 4 in 20 overs (Ganesh Bushara (B2) 80 not out (31), Dunna Venkatesh (B2) 79 (31), Hitesh Bhai Patel (B2) 72 (26) beat South Africa: 67 all out in 11.1 overs (Shekar Naik (B3) 3-1-13-3, Ajay Kumar Reddy (B2) 4-0-14-2). India won by 288 runs. Man of the Match: Hitesh Bhai Patel.

Pakistan defeats Nepal

Pakistan roared into semi-finals in style making mincemeat of Nepal in their outing at Aditya Global Sports Ground, and winning by a margin of 10 wickets. Putting Nepal to bat after winning the toss, Pakistanis bundled out Nepal for 89 in 20 overs, effecting 7 run outs in the innings. The chase proved to be walk in the park for the Pakistani openers who took only 4.1 overs wrap up the match. For Pakistan, Masood Jan hit a hurricane 53 off only 16 balls with 12 hits to the fence while Gulab Khan at the other end hit a breezy 28 off 9 balls.

Brief Scores: Pakistan 90 for no loss in 4.1 overs (Masood Jan (B2) 53 not out (16), Gulab Khan (B1) 28 (9) beat Nepal: 89 all out in 20 overs. Pakistan won by 10 wickets. Man of the Match: Masood Jan.

Pakistan will now play England in the first play-off in the semi-finals to be played at Central College grounds, on Wednesday, and are tipped to meet India in the finals.

England beat Windies to enter last 4

Andy Powers hit a rollicking 122 off 55 balls to power England to an easy win against West Indies 7 wickets at Central College grounds. Invited to bat first, West Indies batsmen Rodney Ramrattan (77 in 36 balls) and Jennson Poyah 75 (54) put on a combative 132 runs partnership in 58 balls, but eventually Windies’ total of 213 proved no match for England who reached the target with 3 overs and 2 balls to spare. England have now entered the semi-finals and will have to play out of their skins to outwit the rampaging Pakistanis.

Brief Scores: England: 217 for 3 in 16.4 overs (Andy Powers (B3) 122 (55), Matt Page (B2) 25 (15)) beat West Indies: 213 for 6 in 20 overs (Rodney Ramrattan (B3) 77 (36), Jennson Poyah (B3) 75 (54), Luke Sugg (4-0-27-2). England won by 7 wickets. Man of the Match: Andy Powers.

Sri Lanka wins over Bangladesh

Sri Lanka defeats Bangladesh with some outstanding batting by LR Madhusanka W. Lekamge (138 not out off 68 balls) and P. Saman Kumara (92 off 21 balls) to post their highest total of 360 for 3 in this T20 World Cup, at the match played at Aditya Global Sports Ground, Bangalore. Lekamge along with A K Kumara (70 in 32 balls) took the Bangladeshi bowling to the cleaners with their clean hitting. In reply, Bangladesh virtually accepted defeat, concluding the game at 112 for 7 in the allotted 20 overs.

Brief Scores: Sri Lanka: 360 for 3 (LR Madhusanka W Lekamge (B2) 138 not out (68), P Saman Kumara (B1) 92 (21), AK Kumara (B3) 70 (32) beat Bangladesh: 112 for 7 in 20 overs (Md Badal Kumar Das (B3) 37 (25), Md Manir Rana (B1) 28 (28). Sri Lanka won by 249 runs. Man of the match: LR Madhusanka W. Lemamge.