You are here: Home » News Detail

Luke Sugg and Gavin Griffiths Win Player of the Year Awards

23rd September 2014

Former Warwickshire Captain Luke Sugg and Northants all rounder Gavin Griffiths have been named the 2014 blind cricket partially sighted and total Player of the Year.

Sugg (right) and Sussex wicketkeeper Si Ledwith are the only players to retain the trophies they won in 2014 which moves the pair to joint second on their own on the all time list with four wins each, one behind Nathan Foy. It is Griffiths’ second win after picking up B1 bowler of the year in 2011.

This year’s surprise package Somerset VICC who have had a brilliant first season in national level cricket take the most individual awards with three, Metro and Sussex claim two each with Northants, Warwickshire and Yorkshire each securing one.

The Somerset trio of Ed Hossell, Rob Crisp (below) and Jason Aughton join Mo Ghalib, David Daniels and Rob Arrowsmith in a record six first time winners. In another new record seven development clubs have players with nominations: Berkshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Kent, RNC and the development teams of Lancashire and Yorkshire.

A full list of winners and nominees is below and is followed by some overall stats relating to the awards.

** Please note where a nominee has played for more than one club they are listed for the club for which their performances earned the nomination

BCEW End of Season Awards

Partially Sighted Player of the Year

Winner: Luke Sugg (Warwickshire Bears)

Other nominees:
Mike Harrison (Northants Steelbacks)
Ed Hossell (Somerset VICC)
Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire Bears)

Total Player of the Year

Winner: Gavin Griffiths (Northants Steelbacks)

Other nominees:
Dave Gavrilovic (Northants Steelbacks)
Jason Aughton (Somerset VICC)
Ian Morris (Sussex Sharks)
Mark Turnham (Warwickshire Bears)

Partially Sighted Batsman of the Year

Winner: Matt Dean (Metro)

Other nominees:
Shah Miah (Lancashire Lions)
Ed Hossell (Somerset VICC)
Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Luke Sugg (Warwickshire Bears)

Total Batsman of the Year

Winner: Rob Arrowsmith (Yorkshire VICC First XI and Development Team)

Other nominees:
Kiran Kaja (Berkshire Stags)
Dave Gavrilovic (Kent Spitfires)
Martin Robson (Lancashire Lions Development Team)
Gavin Griffiths (Northants Steelbacks)

Partially Sighted Bowler of the Year
Winner: Ed Hossell (Somerset VICC)
Other nominees
Mike Harrison (Northants Steelbacks)
Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire Bears)
Luke Sugg (Warwickshire Bears)

Total Bowler of the Year

Winner: Jason Aughton (Somerset VICC)

Other nominees:
Amit Amin (Metro)
Dave Gavrilovic (Northants Steelbacks)
Ian Morris (Sussex Sharks)
Mark Turnham (Warwickshire Bears)

Most Promising Player of the Year

Winner: Mo Ghalib (Metro)

Other nominees:
Ian Whitehurst (Berkshire Stags)
Tim Mackenzie (Dorset Dolphins)
Tahseen Sabir (Lancashire Lions Development Team)
Rory Hossell (Somerset VICC)
Gerald Porter (Warwickshire Bears)
Hassan Ali (Warwickshire Bears)

Partially Sighted Fielder of the Year

Winner: Rob Crisp (Somerset VICC)

Other nominees:
Ed Hossell (Somerset VICC)
Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Joe Harrison (Sussex Sharks)
Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire Bears)

Total Fielder of the Year

Winner: David Daniels (Sussex Sharks)

Other nominees:
Chris Norman (Northants Steelbacks)
Dave Gavrilovic (Northants Steelbacks)
Adrian Snelgrove (RNC Hereford)
Rob Arrowsmith (Yorkshire VICC Development Team)

Wicketkeeper of the Year

Winner: Si Ledwith (Sussex Sharks)

Other nominees:
Ryan West (Hampshire VICC)
Dave Wood (Somerset VICC)
Aiden Reilly (Warwickshire Bears)
Elliot Conway (Yorkshire VICC)

Other Awards
Spirit of Cricket: Yorkshire VICC
Umpire of the Year: Roger Barker
Scorer of the Year: Paul Toplis

Competition Winners

BCEW National League: Metro
BBS Primary Club Heindrich Swanepoel Memorial Cup: Sussex Sharks
BCEW Bill Frindall Memorial Twenty20 Cup: Somerset VICC
BCEW BJMT Development Festival: Nottingham Knights
BCEW Development League North & East: Lancashire Lions
BCEW Development League South & West: Hampshire VICC

Individual Awards Records

Players with most wins

Nathan Foy 5
Luke Sugg 4
Si Ledwith 4
John Garbett 3

Number won by each club

Sussex Sharks 13
Warwickshire Bears 13
Metro 7
Yorkshire VICC 7
Northants Steelbacks 4
South Wales Dragons 4
Somerset VICC 3
Birmingham SCVI 1
Essex Tigers 1
Hampshire VICC 1
London Sports 1