You are here: Home » News Detail

Metro target double at Twenty20 Finals Day

17th September 2014

On Saturday 20th September London Metro will attempt to secure a National League and Twenty20 Cup double.

After Sussex and Warwickshire drew last Sunday to hand the Londoners (pictured) their first league crown since 2006, Rory Field’s men will now be aiming to add to that success with their first ever Twenty20 Cup triumph.

Warwickshire Bears have won the T20 Cup three times in its five-year history and will be hoping to avoid following up last season’s treble with a trophyless 2014. A victory on Saturday would also hand Bears new captain Justin Hollingsworth his first silverwear as skipper.

Surprisingly nobody has played at finals day more often than four time qualifiers Northants, yet the Steelbacks are still waiting for their first match win at the season-ending event. Whilst they will be aiming for their first major trophy or even their first ever final appearance this side will feel at least some achievement if they avoid another fourth-place finish. The team will be led for just the 14th time by usual vice captain David Keeling, the club’s Twenty20 skipper, who achieved his first ever win as a captain in the Quarter Finals with a 3 run win in Yorkshire.

Somerset VICC have had a brilliant first season playing at the top level, the two-time Development League South Champions have already finished as runners-up in the BBS Cup and secured a top-five finish in the National League and will be hoping to round off a remarkable year with a trophy.


Full details of Finals Day:


London Metro

Best Previous Finish: Runners Up (2010)

2014 National League Finish: Winners


Northants Steelbacks

Best Previous Finish: 4th (2010, 2011, 2012)

2014 National League Finish: 4th


Somerset VICC

Best Previous Finish: None, it’s their first Year in the Competition

2014 National League Finish: 5th


Warwickshire Bears

Best Previous Finish: Champions (2009, 2010, 2013)

2014 National League Finish: Runners Up



Bob Southward

Darshak Patel

Paul Richardson

Roger Barker



Paul Toplis

Stephen Trull

Steve Hollingsworth



North London Cricket Club

Address: North London Cricket Club, Crouch End Playing Fields, Montenotte Road, London, N8 8RL.

How to get there: See the ‘location’ section of



10.00 Ground Opens

10.40 Semi Final Draw

10.45 Toss for both semi finals

11.00 Semi Finals begin

13.45 Lunch Opens

14.15 Latest either semi final could finish

14.50 Toss for Final and Third Place play off

15.00 Final begins

15.00 Third place play off begins

18.15 Latest either game could finish

18.30 Latest the presentation is likely to start


** Please note BCEW reserve the right to adjust the schedule if both semi finals finish early or if weather plays a part.

NB: Anyone is welcome to come and watch the event, entry to the ground is free and no ticket is required.