You are here: Home » News Detail

Nottinghamshire claim Development League North & East Title

1st September 2015

Nottinghamshire Knights have broken Lancashire’s stranglehold on the BCEW Development League North & East title as they claimed the 2015 Trophy.

The Knights season didn’t get under way until 21st June, but when it did start it was with a massive bang as they shocked Lancashire despite being put in to bat. Aadam Khan & Ryan Wilcock each reached fifty as Notts scored 159/4 from their 24 overs before they dismissed the three-time defending champions, bowling them out for 119.

The following week Knights bowled Derbyshire out for 183 despite 48 not out from Nadeem Khan as Phil Hancock (4-15) and Daniel Gadsden (3-32) took most of the wickets. The run chase went close but 50 from Gadsden and 39 from Paul Smith led their side to a five wicket victory with eleven balls to spare.

In the return fixture Knights reached 191/1 batting first with a second fifty of the season from Ryan Wilcock and 41 from Daniel Gadsden. Dermot Bishop battled well for Derbyshire with 51 not out but another strong bowling performance from Phil Hancock (3-8) helped Notts dismiss the Owls for 122 to take the win by 69 runs.

Nottinghamshire’s July ended with a hard fought win over Lancashire in a rare midweek game. Rashid Khan’s 31 for the Lions was their top score in reaching 143/5 with Paul Smith taking 3-19 with the ball. In reply Lancashire took the game to the wire but in the end scores in the twenties from Ryan Wilcock, Daniel Gadsden and Aadam Khan saw Knights edge over the winning line with four wickets and just two balls to spare.

In early August Ryan Wilcock notched up his third half century of the season, Gav Griffiths got his first 50 for the club & Paul Smith added 35 not out as Knights scored 211/1 versus Yorkshire. In reply a determined defensive performance from the Vikings saw them safely to a draw with Jordan Swann’s 43 the highlight of their innings.

Seven days later Notts were again put in to bat by Yorkshire, this time it was a second 50 of the season for Daniel Gadsden that led the innings, with 48 not out from Gav Griffiths and 36 for Ryan Wilcock also contributing to their 200/4. Notts came within a fraction of victory but even though Paul Smith took 3-20 they couldn’t claim the last wicket so the Vikings held out for a draw finishing at 94/9.

The win that secured Nottinghamshire the title came off the field unfortunately as due to a lack of available players Durham were forced to forfeit their away fixture in Nottingham which left the Knights with an unassailable lead in the league table  with their away game in Durham still to play.

Nottinghamshire’s first BCEW Development League North/East title gives them their second competitive trophy following their success at the 2014 BCEW Brian Johnston Memorial Trust Development Festival.

Nottinghamshire Knights Title Winning squad:

Aadam Khan
Andrew Slater
Bilal Hussain
Daniel Gadsden
Dave Newsham
Gav Griffiths
John Hickey
Keith Lauder
Matthew Galtress
Michael Harrison
Paul Burton
Paul Smith
Phil Hancock
Ryan Wilcock
Shamaila Kauser