You are here: Home » News Detail

RNC Win Development League South and West Title

13th July 2015

After finishing as runners up in both of the last two seasons, RNC Hereford Bulldogs have finally got their hands on the BCEW Development League South and West title.

Bulldogs’s season started on the 9th of May with a winning draw against Metro Devils, with Dan Sergent (53) and new captain Tom Rogers (42) leading the way with the bat. The following day the men from Hereford took just 18 overs to chase down a 193 run target against Berkshire with half centuries from Alec Hocking and Tom Rogers.

Hocking reached fifty again the following Saturday as RNC beat Kent by 6 wickets in a low scoring encounter, before Rogers and Hocking passed fifty for the second and third time this season respectively and Alex Ditchburn chipped in with 42 as their side smashed 231/1 in just 20 overs v Dorset Dolphins the next day. An impressive bowling performance overwhelmed their opponents as the Bulldogs became the first development team to win after batting first under the competition’s new rules.

June started with a potential title decider between RNC and Gloucestershire. The match was reduced to 22 overs per side due to Growlers’ delayed arrival. Gloucestershire scored 177/6 as Tom Rogers claimed 3-31 with the ball. In reply Rogers reached fifty again and Alex Ditchburn got his first half century but they only accumulated 156/5 so suffered a losing draw.

The following day Alec Hocking reached his fourth half century of the season, as Dan Sergent and Alex Ditchburn each passed fifty for the second time this year. The Bulldogs wracked up 215/3. Surrey battled well in response and held out for a draw with 139/9.

RNC knew that they had to beat last season’s champions Hampshire to have a chance of winning their first title and they got the job done as they chased a 173 run target with seven wickets to spare in their last game of the season.

This left Gloucestershire needing 29 points from their last two games to take the title but they were thwarted by a stunning performance from Kent Spitfires, who beat them in their penultimate game by 8 wickets to send the trophy to Hereford for the first time.

Gloucestershire, Surrey and Kent will battle it out for second behind the Bulldogs with just ten points separating the trio who all have one game remaining.

RNC Hereford Bulldogs title winning squad:

Adrian Snelgrove
Alec Hocking
Alex Bagwell
Alex Ditchburn
Andy Bailey
Craig Watkins
Dan Sergent
Jan Sweircynski
Laura Eggins
Laura Tyler
Rob Rennell
Serkan Atila
Tom Cawley
Tom Rogers