You are here: Home » News Detail

Blind Cricket prepares to celebrate Double Anniversary

18th May 2016

Blind Cricket Logo

On the weekend of Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd May, all 18 counties involved in BCEW League Cricket will see their teams in action as part of BCEW’s celebration of two important anniversaries.

In May 2006, the first Blind Cricket England & Wales (BCEW) matches were staged and ten years before that, in May 1996, British Blind Sport started the first ever blind cricket national league.

Back in 1996, the BBS National League had just five teams in it, Metro, White Rose, Worcester College, London Sports and Northern Sports, where as now - 20 years on - BCEW’s league structure features 21 teams from 18 counties plus a 22nd team from a 19th county playing cup cricket.

On Saturday 21st May there will be two National and one Regional League game, with one National and six Regional League games on Sunday. As Cheshire Cobras also have a friendly on Sunday it only leaves Yorkshire Vikings’s first XI on the sidelines during the weekend.

Those playing Saturday are: Kent Spitfires, Lancashire Lions, Metro Devils, Somerset VICC, Sussex Sharks and Warwickshire Bears.

Those playing Sunday are: Berkshire Stags, Derbyshire Owls, Dorset Dolphins, Durham Vipers, Gloucestershire Growlers, Hampshire VICC, Lancashire Lions 2nd XI, London Metro, Northants Steelbacks, Nottinghamshire Knights, RNC Hereford Bulldogs, Staffordshire Wolves, Surrey VICC and Yorkshire Vikings 2nd XI.

British Blind Sport Logo