You are here: Home » News Detail

Regional League titles give Surrey and Derbyshire first trophies

10th October 2016

Surrey team photo

Surrey VICC and Derbyshire Owls won their first ever trophies as they claimed their respective Regional League titles with Lancashire Lions second XI winning the remaining league.

Surrey won their first three league games, two by 10 wickets and the other by seven wickets, with Lois Turner taking three wickets in two of the three matches. Their fourth game was an incredibly close match against Kent Spitfires which ended up as a winning draw for Kent who were left needing six runs to win but with only one wicket left when the overs ran out.

Surrey knew a draw would be enough for the title in their final fixture against Metro Devils, Stuart Ralph (50) and Jack Kirkby (37) helped them reach 219/4, a total that never looked like being chased down as Devils could only reach 184/6. Harish Kumrai, who scored 31 against Kent, was the pick of the bowlers this time taking two wickets as Surrey secured both a winning draw and the BCEW South & East Regional League Title.

Less than a month after winning the league, Surrey picked up their second trophy with a 32 run win over Gloucestershire Growlers in the final of the BCEW South & West Regional Twenty20 Cup. In the final, Lois Turner scored 50 (her second half century of the competition), Stuart Ralph scored 48 and Amit Amin took two wickets.

Derbyshire’s BCEW North & East Regional League title charge started with successive wins over Durham, one by nine wickets with 85-year-old Don Solway scoring 45 not out and Bob Stone taking 4-15, and the other by seven wickets. Then it was on to a 45 run win over Nottinghamshire Knights in a match dominated by Nadeem Khan who scored 53 not out and took two wickets. Andy Lewis also batted well for 38.

The following game saw the league’s youngest player, 11-year-old Billy Smith, bowl to Solway, the league’s oldest player, as shown in the below photo.

11-year-old Billy Smith bowling to 85-year-old Don Solway

Despite only scoring 190/7, Derbyshire were in complete control of the match as a brilliant spell of bowling from Abbas Zaib (three overs, three wickets for six runs) reduced Yorkshire to 77/5. However the match was then rained off and, due to their superior run rate, it went down as a winning draw for Yorkshire.

As Nottinghamshire were unable to complete their remaining fixtures versus Yorkshire or Derbyshire without using ineligible players, it left Yorkshire’s trip to Derbyshire as the title decider. Derby only needed six points to secure the trophy and when they declared on 209/6 with a 50 from Nadeem Khan the title was certain to be theirs. Yorkshire batted solidly to reach 165/4, including a 50 for young Jordan Swann, but the title and a winning draw were Derbyshire’s.

Lancashire Lions won their fourth regional league title, the third for their second XI, as they claimed the BCEW North & West Regional League trophy. Lancashire’s first game, against Staffordshire, was abandoned as a draw after three overs of the second innings due to rain. Their second game was also reduced in overs, this time due to Lancashire’s delayed arrival. Junior player Michael Dickson scored 42 and National League player Sheraz Chohan took three wickets but it was RNC Hereford Bulldogs who narrowly claimed a winning draw.

A strong batting performance including half centuries from Tahseen Sabir and Amanda Large, as well as 36 for Kieran Kelly, led Lancashire to a comfortable win over Staffordshire with Sheraz Chohan again their most successful bowler. A superb bowling display helped Lancashire easily see off RNC at the end of June as they dismissed the Bulldogs for just 99 with Rob Williams taking three wickets. 14-year-old Wasim Afridi scored 46 not out as Lions won by nine wickets.

The title was secured off the field when Gloucestershire were unable to fulfil their tie in Lancashire due to lack of players, but Growlers did get a side on the pitch for the reverse fixture. Lancashire wracked up an impressive 259/4 with fifties from Tahseen Sabir and Sheraz Chohan. Whilst Lancashire’s bowling attack on this occasion was mainly National League players it was Rob Williams, in his first season, who again took three wickets as Gloucestershire were bowled out for 99.

Some other impressive performances in the Regional Leagues saw Staffordshire Wolves finish as runners up in the North & West league in their first competitive season and Dorset Dolphins finish fourth in the South & East league, their highest ever finish.

The players who won the titles

Surrey VICC: Min Ainsworth, Ahmed Alasow, Amit Amin, Richard Claridge, Storme Dunford, John Fullwood, Leanne Harvey, Ryan Jones, Jack Kirkby, Hassan Khan, Harish Kumrai, Darren Paddick, Stuart Ralph, Lois Turner, John Woodford.

Derbyshire Owls: Dermot Bishop, Danny Dyche, Nadeem Khan, Nav Khan, Andy Lewis, Vinod Mistry, David Parfett, Richard Parfett, Georgie Ridgeway, Don Solway, Ady Stone, Bob Stone, Abbas Zaib.

Lancashire Lions: Wasim Afridi, Shan Ahmed, Ayaz Ali, Sheraz Chohan, Michael Dickson, Abu Bakr Ishtiaq, Kieran Kelly, Amjad Khan, Rashid Khan, Amanda Large, Mohammed Salim Patel, Aman Raja, Amelia Robertson, Arslan Sabir, Tahseen Sabir, Rob Williams.