You are here: Home » News Detail

Twenty20 Finals Day Set For Wolverhampton

22nd September 2016

Sussex Sharks with the 2015 Twenty20 Cup Trophy

The BCEW David Townley Memorial Twenty20 Cup Finals Day will take place at Wolverhampton Cricket Club for the first time on Saturday 24th September 2016.

The day will start with two Semi-Finals in the morning before the Final and Third Place Play-off round out the season.

Once the action on the field is over, it will be time for BCEW’s End of Season Award presentations including two new inductions into the Blind Cricket Hall of Fame.

Legendary former England Women's cricket captain Baroness Rachael Heyhoe Flint has kindly agreed to be present for some of Finals Day too - she will be around during the day to watch some of the matches before returning later to help with the presentations.

* * * * *
The Semi-Finalists

Cheshire Cobras
Cheshire won through a qualifying competition to earn their place in the Quarter-Finals of the national T20 Cup, a 31-run victory against Nottinghamshire Knights was followed by a win over Durham Vipers by concession. Having won the north section of the draw, they then beat the winners of the south section, Surrey VICC, by 8 wickets. As they secured passage to Finals Day after their Quarter-Final opponents were unable to secure a ground for their scheduled match, Cobras are yet to face a national level side, so will start Finals Day as big underdogs.

London Metro
Metro have had a very inconsistent season but still have a host of star names as was emphasised when England captain Matt Dean smashed 84 not out from 32 deliveries as the Londoners saw off Yorkshire Vikings in the Quarter-Finals, with more than 13 overs to spare. Depending on who Metro can get on the field, they could be a big threat to finally claim the only major title that has so far eluded them.

Sussex Sharks
After a terrific season Sussex have claimed the BCEW National League title for the third time in their history, their previous wins coming in 2011 and 2012. A fantastic Quarter-Final performance saw the Sharks thrash Somerset VICC by 184 runs as they notched up 263/5, the third highest score in the competition’s history. That match featured a brilliant 148 from in-form batsman Dan Field and his firepower means that the 2015 T20 Cup winners are very capable of retaining the trophy.

Warwickshire Bears
It is unusual to reach Finals Day without Warwickshire already having claimed a trophy, so successful have they been over the past few seasons, but they will still start Finals Day as joint favourites with Sussex. After their opponents were unable to play in the Quarter-Finals, the Bears received a bye to Finals Day, but despite their low key passage in this competition Warwickshire have put in some stunning performances at times during the 2016 season - none more spectacular than England star Luke Sugg’s incredible 8 for 26 against Yorkshire to set a new record for the best bowling figures in the history of blind cricket in this country.

Metro field whilst Sussex bat in the 2015 T20 Cup Semi-Finals
Metro field whilst Sussex bat in the 2015 T20 Cup Semi-Finals

* * * * *
Schedule for Finals Day
10.00 Teams, please aim to be at the ground by around this time.
10.40 Semi-Final Draw
10.45 Toss for both Semi-Finals
11.00 Both Semi-Finals start
14.15 Hopefully both Semi-Finals are finished
14.15 Lunch (this will be available earlier if either Semi-Final finishes quicker)
14.50 Toss for Final and Third Place Play-Off
15.00 Final and Third Place Play-Off start
18.15 Hopefully Final and Third Place Play-Off finish
18.30 Presentations for the day and End of Season Awards

All timings depend on how fast the matches are completed.

* * * * *
Match Officials for Finals Day
Umpires: Alan Pearce, Roger Barker, Steve Trull and Surendiran Shanmugam
Scorers: Clive Spencer, Paul Toplis, Steve Field and Steve Hollingsworth
Match Referees: Paul Richardson and Ansel Porter

* * * * *
Notes for Spectators

There will be a raffle at some point during the day.
Hot food will be available to purchase at the ground.

* * * * *
Venue Details

Location: Wolverhampton Cricket Club
Address: Wolverhampton Cricket Club, Danescourt Road, Tettenhall, Wolverhampton, WV6 9BJ.
How To Find It: A map can be found on