You are here: Home » News Detail

How The 2017 Leagues Were Won

31st October 2017

Justin Hollingsworth receives Partially Sighted Player of the Year from Dave Gavrilovic

BCEW National League

Warwickshire Bears cruised to the 2017 BCEW National League title as they reclaimed the trophy by 30 points over eventual runners up London Metro.

The closest the Bears came to losing a match was on day one of the season, only fielding 7 men Warwickshire saw Nottinghamshire race to 137/1 before collapsing to 205 All Out. In response Justin Hollingsworth blasted 105 not out to go with his 2 wickets, 2 catches & a run out, Asif Ali also played a major role adding 44 runs to his 3 wickets as Warwickshire triumphed by 8 wickets.

The only other time Warwickshire almost didn’t win was a last ball thriller v London Metro. The Bears raced to 275/3 with centuries for Justin Hollingsworth & Luke Sugg. Attempting to bat out the remaining 34 overs to save a draw Metro’s last wicket pair of Nick Ebbeck & the late Charles Ronayne batted for more than 20 overs together before Ebbeck fell off the final ball of the final over of the game, caught by Sugg off Hollingsworth’s bowling.

Warwickshire’s other wins came by 9 wickets versus Lancashire & Yorkshire as well as by 10 wickets against Northants & Somerset. The Warwickshire v Sussex fixture didn’t take place so was declared a draw.

Warwickshire’s title winning players: Asif Ali, Chris Lanwarne, Chris Styles, Eamon Preston, Ezekiel Alphonse, Gerald Porter, Hassan Ali, Justin Hollingsworth (Captain), Luke Sugg, Mark Turnham, Matt Cliff, Nathan Foy, Roy Turnham.

BCEW North & East Regional League

Derbyshire Owls had a real battle before successfully retaining their Regional League title. They started with a comfortable 9 wicket win against Yorkshire’s 2nd XI that featured 3 wickets & 50 runs from Dermot Bishop plus a fifty from Vinod Mistry.

Another fifty from Vinod Mistry helped the Owls to a 5 wicket win v Durham after they’d limited their opponents to 152/3 from 28 overs. The return visit v Yorkshire ended in a winning draw as Dermot Bishop passed fifty again & Abbas Zaib took 3 wickets in a game that neither team got particularly close to winning.

Derbyshire’s only defeat of the season came in a 9 wicket thrashing v eventual runners up Nottinghamshire Knights 2nd XI before they returned the favour & thrashed Knights by 8 wickets with Abbas Zaib claiming 3 wickets & both Dermot Bishop & Vinod Mistry notching third fifties of the season.

Derbyshire sealed the title with a high scoring winning draw against Durham in which just 8 wickets fell during the match.

Derbyshire’s Title Winning Players: Abbas Zaib, Adrian Stewart, Adrian Stone, Andy Lewis, Anes Saleh, Bob Stone, Conna Jeffs, Danny Dyche, David Parfett, Dermot Bishop, Don Solway, Georgie Ridgeway, Matt Cooper, Matt Taylor, Nadeem Khan, Nav Khan, Richard Parfett, Themba Noel, Vinod Mistry.

BCEW North & West Regional League

Lancashire Lions 2nd XI enjoyed a succession of straight forward victories on the way to retaining their Regional League Title. This started with a 143 run win over RNC that featured 4 wickets & 50 runs for 14 year old Amelia Robertson.

Amelia also took 4 wickets whilst Rob Williams scored 38 as Lions beat Staffordshire by 123 runs

After RNC were unable to fulfil their second match v Lancashire the Lions secured the title 2 games early when they beat Staffordshire by 78 runs, Kieran Kelly scored 51 & Amelia Robertson 49 in that game.

Lancashire ended the season with double success against Worcestershire, defeating the Elizabethans by first 163 runs & then 108 runs. In the second of those games Kieran Kelly & Amjad Khan each reached fifty with Abu Bakr Ishtiaq taking 2 wickets.

Lancashire’s Title Winning Players: Abu Bakr Ishtiaq, Adam Young, Amelia Robertson, Amjad Khan, Arslan Sabir, Helen Lawson, Kieran Kelly, Naiomi Allman, Rashid Khan, Reece Mackie, Rob Williams (Captain), Sabrina Frances Gough, Sheraz Chohan, Tahseen Sabir, Wasim Afridi.

BCEW South & West Regional League

Gloucestershire’s title charge started with an extraordinary last wicket win over Hampshire as they successfully chased down 226 largely thanks to 125 not out from John Gribbin & 33 not out from Ed Hastings. Both batsmen also starred in a winning draw v Dorset before Dan Hopkins & Ed Hastings scored half centuries in an 87 run win over Metro Devils in which Hopkins also took 4 wickets as the Growlers took the last wicket with just 5 balls to spare.

A winning draw v Berkshire followed including fifties from Gribbin, Hopkins & Hastings plus 44 from a returning Elyse Bezuidenhout. In reply Berkshire escaped defeat by a single wicket having just survived the 24 overs Growlers left them to bat.

The pivotal win came when Gloucestershire saw off their title rivals Kent by 9 wickets with John Gribbin, Dan Hopkins & Elyse Bezuidenhout dominating with the bat. After earning the remaining points they needed to secure their first league title Gloucestershire went on to beat Surrey in their final match of the league season, Mike Tasker’s 4 wickets & Elyse Bezuidenhout’s first fifty since 2015 the highlights of that match.

Gloucestershire’s Title Winning Players: Alun Davies, Andy Dales, Bob Henderson, Daniel Hopkins, Ed Hastings (Captain), Elyse Bezuidenhout, John Gribbin, Marc Gulwell, Mark James, Mark Jeffrey, Mike Tasker, Paul Bryce, Peter Blackley, Sheona Page.

Tahseen Sabir takes a catch for Lancashire with Rashid Khan looking on