You are here: Home » News Detail

Regional League Player of the Season Winners announced

21st September 2017

BCEW have announced the winners of their Regional Level Player of the Season awards with the enlarged number of four awards all going to first time winners.

Dorset Dolphins Captain Steve Bailey claimed Partially Sighted Player of the Year following a superb season that included 178 runs at an average of 59, 7 wickets at an average of 16 whilst conceding fewer than 5 runs per over and great fielding stats of 2 catches, 9 run outs & a stumping. Steve becomes the second Dorset player to win a regional level award after his teammate Tim Mackenzie won the same award in 2016.

Kent’s Ray St.Cyr became his club’s third award winner too as he claimed Low Partial Player of the Year after a fantastic season. Ray scored 257 runs and took 9 wickets, as well as taking 3 catches and 3 run outs. Ray’s efforts with the ball were especially impressive with his average of 16 and economy rate of 4.6 superior to most partially sighted players.

Lancashire’s Regional League captain Rob Williams became his club’s first regional level award winner as he won Total Player of the Year. Rob scored 72 runs including a top score of 38, he took 4 wickets only conceding 7.8 runs per over (impressive for his sight category) and he held 2 catches as well as captaining his side to the North & West Regional League Title.

A new award of Regional Level Most Promising Player of the Year has been introduced and despite a strong field of candidates, Gloucestershire Growlers’s Dan Hopkins took the award after a terrific first season in blind cricket. With the bat Dan scored 4 half centuries as he totalled 219 runs with an average of 73, he also took 9 wickets, 1 catch and one run out. He becomes the second Gloucestershire player to win a regional level award.

Regional League Awards 2017

Partially Sighted Player of the Year
Steve Bailey (Dorset Dolphins)
Other Nominees
Dan Hopkins (Gloucestershire Growlers)
Elyse Bezuidenhout (Gloucestershire Growlers)
Alec Hocking (RNC Hereford Bulldogs)
Lois Turner (Surrey VICC & RNC Hereford Bulldogs)
Stuart Ralph (Surrey VICC)

Low Partial Player of the Year
Ray St.Cyr (Kent Spitfires)
Other Nominees
Paul Fisher (Berkshire Stags)
Emma Gilfoyle (Durham Viper Jets)
John Gribbin (Gloucestershire Growlers)
Matt Killeen (Hampshire VICC)

Total Player of the Year
Rob Williams (Lancashire Lions)
Other Nominees
Sam Hoskin (Berkshire Stags)
Abbas Zaib (Derbyshire Owls)
Mike Tasker (Gloucestershire Growlers)
Amin Afshari (Kent Spitfires)

Most Promising Player of the Year
Dan Hopkins (Gloucestershire Growlers)
Other Nominees
David Smith (Durham Viper Jets)
Nathan Jameson (Durham Viper Jets)
Amelia Robertson (Lancashire Lions)
Mazan Malik (Staffordshire Wolves)
Colin Shales (Worcestershire Elizabethans)