You are here: Home » News Detail

Twenty20 Finals Day set to conclude 2017 Season

20th September 2017

BCEW David Townley Memorial Twenty20 Cup Finals Day is set to return to Wolverhampton CC on Saturday 23rd September as the 2017 blind cricket season draws to a close.

The day will start with a minute’s silence in memory of London Metro and former Northants Steelbacks player Charles Ronayne who passed away aged just 33 in mid-August. The two semi-finals will then take place and will be followed by the final and third place play-off.

Once the on-field action finishes, BCEW will be presenting their end of season awards, and the day will also feature an induction into the Blind Cricket Hall of Fame.

* * * * *
The Semi-Finalists

Cheshire Cobras
Last year’s third-place finishers again won through a qualifying competition to reach the quarter-finals where they beat Sussex Sharks in a bowl out after their match was rained off. Although this is Cheshire’s second finals day in a row they will start the day as outsiders for the cup in part due to their lack of national level experience.

Lancashire Lions
A dominant victory in their quarter-final against Yorkshire saw Lancashire reach finals day for the second time in three years. The 2016 National League runners-up have struggled in the league this season but after losing narrowly in the 2015 T20 Cup final they will still be considered a serious threat at finals day.

London Metro
Metro have won the National League title 9 times and the BBS Cup 16 times but they have never won the Twenty20 Cup. The Londoners will be extra keen this year to win the competition founded by and named after their former captain David Townley, both in his memory and in that of Charles Ronayne who passed away less than six weeks before finals day. Having finished second in the 2017 BCEW National League, Metro must be considered the second favourites to finally claim the T20 Cup Trophy.

Warwickshire Bears
Warwickshire once again won the National League title in 2017 and followed that up by reaching the BBS Cup Final where they lost to Sussex. If those performances weren’t enough to make them favourites to secure a league and T20 Cup double, then their quarter-final performance certainly was. Having been put into bat by Somerset, they set a new UK record score of an astonishing 436/0 from their 20 overs. So the big question will be, can anyone stop the Bears?

* * * * *
Schedule for Finals Day
10.00 Teams — please aim to be at the ground by around this time
10.40 Semi-Final Draw and minute’s silence in memory of Charles Ronayne
10.45 Toss for both semi-finals
11.00 Both Semi-Finals start
14.15 Hopefully both semi finals are finished
14.15 Lunch (this will be available earlier if either semi final finishes quicker)
14.50 Toss for final and third place play off
15.00 Final and Third place play off start
18.15 Hopefully final & third place play off finish
18.30 Presentations for the day and end of season awards

* * * * *
Match Officials for Finals Day
Umpires: Alan Pearce, Neil Robson, Roger Barker, Steve Trull
Scorers: John Egan, Michael Barnett, Paul Toplis, Steve Hollingsworth

* * * * *
Notes for Spectators
Entry to the ground is free and spectators are welcome
Hot food will be available to purchase at the ground.

* * * * *
Venue Details
Location: Wolverhampton Cricket Club
Address: Wolverhampton Cricket Club, Danescourt Road, Tettenhall, Wolverhampton, WV6 9BJ.
How To Find It: A map can be found at this link -